excerpt Nutrition & Sensory Profile: Canaryseed Development Commission of Saskatchewan

“Canaryseed has been tested and proven to be gluten-free (contains no gluten protein) and is therefore safe for individuals with celiac disease. However, during the safety studies on the grain, it was observed that it may contain a protein similar to a wheat allergen protein.

To inform wheat allergic consumers, the statement “may not be suitable for consumers with a wheat allergy” must appear on labels of pre-packaged canaryseed and pre-packaged foods using canaryseed as an ingredient and not containing wheat.

Research is continuing to determine if canaryseed would elicit an allergic reaction in wheat allergic individuals.”

Download Document